A Bottle of Rocks 

I keep a bottle
Of rocks in my hand
I open it
When no one’s around
I catch the rocks with my fingers or my pillow
Before they fall to the ground
And if they fall
I’m quick to toss
And hide them again

I bottle everything
And all my pain
So you can be happier
If I’m sane
Or if I pretend to
I bottle everything
I keep the weight
Life will be heavier
Our friendship will sink
And I will lose you

I’ve forgotten to close
My bottle of rocks
I’m learning everyday
To leave the cap off
Now suddenly it’s been tipped over
Life comes and knocks it down
My bottle is open and all the shards
And rocks are open

I bottle everything
And all my pain
So you can be happier
If I’m sane
Or if I pretend to
I bottle everything
I keep the weight
My life gets heavier
And I can’t swim, I’m scared
I will lose you

Leave a Reply

