Save Me a Puppy

.

I wish you would teach your children
To fight for black people
Just as much
As you teach them
To save puppies

Do you prefer it better
If we were not so tall and proud
And rather pittied ourselves
To sooth your feet
At the foot of your boudoir

Did you like it better
When you could hunt us down?
Keep us in your homes
Leave us hanging for display

Is my freedom too far reaching?
Have I crossed too many oceans?
Should I always ask permission?
Before I fly
And find my skin

Do those dogs make you happy?
When they do not talk back
Are those caged birds singing?
Or have you silenced
Them as well?

I wish you would teach your children
I wish you would teach them well
I wish you would let them teach you
I hope you would learn as well

Leave a Reply

